The Joy of Meat and Manliness

I love you.

Once I left my Twitter account open on my cell phone and my husband tweeted the following: “I wish I was as cool as my husband. He is better than me at everything.”

I love my husband for many reasons, but one of the things I appreciate most is that he has taught me a lot about manly stuff. I don’t have any brothers, and I went to an all-girls high school, so growing up I learned very little about the male world .

One of the most important things my husband has taught me over the years is about the joy of meat. For example, he taught me that beef jerky is like candy to men the way chocolate is to women. “Man candy.” He also taught me that the bits of chest hair that stick out above a man’s collar are called “hamburger meat.” He also taught me that everything you could possibly eat is better with bacon- on it, in it or surrounding it.

I have to say, I owe a debt of gratitude to my husband. Over the years, he has really introduced me to a whole new level ofcarnivorousness. And I love him (and bacon) for it.

Leave a Reply

