Home

this is a photo someone took of me while I was surfing the interwebs.

You know that self deprecating friend who is always looking for a compliment by saying something bad about herself and asking for your opinion? Like the skinny brat who says, “Oh my God, I am so fat!” or the one with the perfect coif who complains, “I just hate my hair today.” I hate women who do that. So let me be clear, I am not that woman.

Now that we’ve got that settled, I have to say, “I hate looking so young.”

Wait, before you roll your eyes or tell me I should be thankful I look so youthful, consider this:

  • Imagine trying to get a job and finding out that the supervisor said you were “too young” for a position that you were obviously qualified for.
  • Imagine getting your driver’s license confiscated at a bar because the bouncer didn’t believe you were 26 years old.
  • Imagine being 25, and getting asked for ID before being allowed to purchase a rated R DVD because the clerk didn’t believe you were 17.
  • Imagine being 18, having a splitting headache, driving to the gas station to get one of those little packets of Tylenol, and being refused by the attendant because she has a policy of not selling pills to kids.
  • Imagine working as the Director of Marketing and Recruitment in a high school and getting mistaken for one of the students at least 2 times per week.

Every time I notice a new wrinkle, I feel a little bit happy inside. I know that I will never want Botox because I cherish the idea of my face aging. Sick right? And while my friends are bemoaning the fact that they are reaching their 30s, I am looking forward to it. Now that I am closer to 30 than I am to 20, I am starting to feel a little bit better about looking so young. And now that I am in a professional position where I am respected for my professional skills and abilities, and not treated like a college intern, I’m finally starting to get comfortable in my own skin – my own youthful, radiant, like a baby’s bottom – skin.

P.S.- Today I spilled Indian food on my shirt. It’s not pleasant to smell like curry all afternoon.

2 thoughts on “Not-So-Barely Legal

Leave a Reply

