A Bad Day and Chick-Fil-A

My Favorite Childhood Book

Remember Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day? We all have them. It seems like this past week I’ve had several of them. Tuesday was one such day. I’m not going to go into detail about what made it so terrible, but here’s how it got a little bit better.

I had a lot to do but I needed to grab lunch because my blood sugar was getting low and I needed to eat something. I figured my favorite lunch would make me feel better, even if I had to eat it at my desk. Chick-Fil-A has an amazing Southwest Chargrilled Chicken Salad that I knew would make my day. Let me tell you. Chick-Fil-A is the best thing to happen to fast food since the drive-through. I love that place. They have the fastest, friendliest staff I have ever seen at a fast food restaurant. And seriously, juicy fried chicken fillets? Is it even possible to go wrong with that? Plus, my favorite item, the Southwest Salad, isn’t too terribly unhealthy.

I love you.

I got in the drive through, ordered my delicious meal, and pulled up to the window as I reached for my purse. Then, I opened my purse to the most disappointing sight. I didn’t have my wallet! I remembered that I had taken out my wallet to get cash for a coworker’s wedding gift collection.

I pulled up to the window on the verge of tears. “I’m so sorry. This is embarrassing. I need to cancel my order because I left my wallet at work.”

The woman at the register replied, “Oh that’s ok.”

I started to pull away, resigning myself to the depressing fact that this was just another bummer in my awful day.

Wait!” she called out. “Here, take the food.”

Really?” I asked. “Are you sure?”

Yeah, just because you forgot your wallet is no reason to skip lunch. Just come back and see us sometime,” she said.

Oh, my gosh, thank you! I will come back later to pay for it!” I said.

Don’t worry about it. Just be sure to come back and see us another time,” she said, handing me my lunch.

I could have cried. Honestly.

After a horrible day, one act of kindness simply turned it around. I came back to work feeling like my faith in humanity had been restored. All because of a free lunch! The salad was delectable as usual and the rest of my day wasn’t so bad after that.

And that is how Chick-Fil-A made my day.

Thank you!

2 comments

Leave a Reply

