Precision Time: A Follow Up Post

I blogged last week about Precision Time and their horrible policy/customer service. And it seems someone was listening. (Ok, so I may have posted a link to my blog on their Facebook page.) In fact, I never realized so many people who could relate to my story would find my post and reach out to me to share their similar horror experiences. It grew quite larger than I’d anticipated when I started my rant.

Anyway, I do not wish to pillory Precision Time any further. Their marketing department sent me a very nice Facebook message offering to remedy the situation. After speaking to the regional manager, he arranged for my watch to be returned. I am pleased to report that they accepted my return (after an additional call to the manager from the kiosk) on Friday, January 21.

In addition, the marketing department offered me a $200 watch from their collection. My husband was thrilled at the opportunity to snag some swag! But, much to my husband’s dismay, I politely refused the offer. It’s like I told them. I never wanted to get anything for free out of the situation. I just wanted to vent. And to serve as a warning to others who might be considering “customizing” their watch someday.

The fact that I did after all get the opportunity to get my money back was a much appreciated bonus I was not expecting. After all, I laid into the company pretty hard, much harder than I would have if I thought I would score a deal out of it.

All in all, Precision Time is not so bad. In fact, they have some really nice watches and some very nice people working for them. I would just suggest you order a watch online instead of in the mall. If you would like to order a watch, you can visit their website here.

13 comments

  1. Meant to tell you, I’ve always had pretty good luck with them except for last week…I had a watch that needed a new battery. Just couldn’t get the back off with all my tools. Took it there expecting them to open it for around $5.00. I already had the battery. He wanted to charge me $10.00 to open it up…I told him, “no way.” Went upstairs to Zales, they did it for me for NOTHING in 10 seconds. Think it depends on which clerk you get.

    • Judy,
      the associate was right. 9.99 is the minimum repair charge. It is a business. Nothing is free. Setting time is a courtesy which most of us do for free despite policy being that we should charge because we do not use company tools. But, as the rent is not free and I do not work for free we charge for services. You would receive the same 10 charge at any PT. I think customers forget that these are businesses. I am glad that you are industrious and capable. But, maybe you should stop back in and ask questions about what a proper battery change is. Ask what the little green colored machine is in the corner. Next to the bench. This company is founded by a watchmaker and his family is still running the company. Popping a battery in like you would pop a skittle into your mouth is horrible. Ask about the five year. Imagine not having to lift a finger for five years, get a PROPER battery change with reseal and a cleaning for only 5 dollars and someodd cents a year. The same price for a battery that you buy @ most drug stores or radioshack but you don’t have to do it and they properly maintain your watch according to manufacturer specifications AND you don’t have to save your receipt! We store your name and phone number in the computer. It’s a really great deal. I have it on all my watches.

      • Thanks for the tips. I totally understand about them being a “business”…but there has to be some common sense involved. Customer Service, Public Relations, Goodwill…and as Forest Gump says…”That’s all I’m saying about that.”

      • You are possibly the most condescending manager of a business I have ever encountered. I personally used to work in a watch store, and replacing a battery takes very little effort or money to do, especially if they themselves bought said battery. We used to do it at our store all the time for those who purchased their watch there. Even sometimes for those who didn’t. You do much more damage toward your company defending it in such a personally insulting manner than you think. Because of your attitude, I will personally see that no one I know goes to Precision Time in my area if I can help it. Thanks, Stef.

    • Judy! I can’t believe you would try to pop a battery in your mouth like a Skittle! Or was it the Skittle you wanted to put in your watch? Either way, it sounds very dangerous, but it does give me a craving for some Skittles…

      • To Judy:
        I own a jewelry store, and I agree with you and I agree with the manager(being a small or smaller business people come in and think that because it seems easy then it should be FREE and that is not fair at all) about it is a business and there are bills to pay. but I do not agree with $10 to take a back off of a watch, even if is a screw off back. I take the back off for FREE all the time. however as simple as it is to change a battery, it is also equally as simple to ruin a watches movement or break something else while doing the procedure. so keep in mind, they are charging you $5 to $10 to change a battery(or remove the back only) but if they slip, like ANYONE can, they now get to pay “X” amount to replace or to fix the watch. you are not wrong with thinking that is expensive, because it is(I charge $10.00 for the battery, the labor, and a new gasket) but you are paying for more than the task at a REAL watch store, you are paying for expertise, and to be covered in the event that something happens during the process. also keep in mind, if one of my LOYAL customers come in for something/anything I will do a lot of things cheaper of FREE for them that someone that I have never seen and has never supported my business in any way would not get. keep in mind, you just walked into a watch store where selling and repairing watches is his livelihood, with a watch(possibly one he carries) that you purchased somewhere else and let that other company make the money and wanted service for FREE. I just want to help you see the other side.. but all in all $10 is too much for just a back removal, you are for sure right on that point…

        PS
        Don’t let Zales fool you…. 87 years in business,, sure. but in 87 years it has changed owners countless times, and the way they stay in business is by getting in a ton of merch on terms, then they have filed for bankruptcy more times than I can remember, and in doing so leave all of their honest vendors, some large and some small companies, holding the bag with no payment and no returned merchandise, and in a lot of cases it destroys the smaller company. so if that is doing things right, then I am doing things wrong..

        PPS
        Zales doesn’t make even 1% of their revenue on watch sales or watch repair so they don’t need or care to charge for taking the back off. but if they damaged your watch in any way, you would be lucky to get a “sorry” because hey it was done free, by an associate that is not qualified at all to do the watch. but if you would’ve paid precision time’s QUALIFIED employee to work on your watch and something happened then you are covered, now that $10.00 was well worth it I would think……

  2. I’m having a similar problem with the same company. I, too, had my watch sized when I bought it at Precision time. I found the watch to be uncomfortable to wear after a short time, and decided to return it only to be told that they will not accept returns on a customized watch. I’m in a situation where I need a watch every day, and had to buy another watch to wear while I wait for this to be sorted out. So far, the only response I’ve gotten is that they would allow an exchange of the watch, which isn’t an option for me anymore. Customer service has so far been polite but very slow to respond. It seems to me like they’re only willing to work with customers once a sufficient stink has been raised, which is no way to to business.

  3. Hello, interesting story. I stopped at a Precision Time outlet in our local mall to have battery put in my watch and they put me on their email list. I get a ping every other day or so with watches on sale. I’ve ordered two watches on line on sale from Precision Time, The first was a Sottomarino chronograph that gets a lot of attention that was on clearance for an unbelievable $39. So far so good. The second watch was a Lowen chronograph with a swiss movement and saphire crystal on clearance for $82. It came in a beautiful box but the stopwatch hand and minute hand didn’t register back to zero. I submitted a comment on line to customer service. The next day I got a nice reply with a link to download a prepaid first class shipping lable and instructions to return the watch which I did today. I expect it will be remedied. So while the mall outets may suffer the human foibles of many mall stores, the on line business of Precision Time seems pretty professional so far.

  4. I work for Precision Time and while the majority of my customer interactions are positive, I’ve also had my fair share of horror stories. I’ve been praised for my kindness and condemned for my rudeness, all in the same day.

    What people don’t realize is that it’s very easy for employees to be on edge since half of the customers in the mall treat us like trash. Not only does the mall attract a lot of awful people, but there are so many negative stereotypes about kiosks and so many will try to take advantage of us.

    I am very nice by default. but over time it’s taking less and less for me go postal on a customer. Nowadays if I’m approached in a hostile manner, I will return that hostility no questions asked. If they approach me kindly, I will be kind. I’ll assume that the way you’re treating me is the way you want to be treated. So many people start yelling before I even have the chance to open my mouth and then act shocked when I dare stand up for myself. These people would never talk to someone like this on the street, but act abusive in a retail environment because they feel they can get away with it.

    Returning merchandise is a privilege, not a right. You can’t expect kiosks to be able to offer the same courtesy as a department store. What people don’t realize is that these larger retailers will often throw out their returned goods that aren’t re-sellable. Our returned merchandise HAS to be in perfect condition. We have enough useless inventory as it is. The reason why we’re cautious about returning sized watches is because the hammer used to size a watch will likely scuff the side of the band a bit. It’s unavoidable. I try to be reasonable when people try to return a sized watch. If it’s truly in perfect condition and they still have the links then I will usually take it. But a lot of times it has been worn for a few days and there are light scratches all over the watch. I tell these people to take a hike.

    People need to stop treating the 30 day return period as a free trial. I know a lot of stores are willing to put up with it these days, but you are not actually entitled to anything. It’s gotten worse after the recession, now that everyone’s broke. You’d be shocked to see what people try to get away with.

  5. I’m having a terrible experience with Precision Time right now. They repaired my watch unsuccessfully 3 times. When I then sent it to the mfg for inspection I learned that it had been damaged on the inside. I have contacted them about this and cannot get them to call me back. Customer service will only give a message to management who apparently can’t be bothered to call me back. I asked to speak to the District Manager’s boss (no return calls after 6 attempts) and I was told they didn’t know how to get in touch with her boss. Every call gets an answer that is more absurd. It’s not the fault of the front line people (they’ve all been good except for the answers they’ve been instructed to give out) but Precision Time should be ashamed to treat their customers the way they do and should not even be in business. So disappointing that they won’t even have a conversation with me and now I’m so mad and frustrated with them that it might be pointless.

Leave a Reply

